Ford EB Falcon

1992-1993 Ford EB II Fairmont
Ford EB Falcon
Ford Australia
Also called
Ford EB Fairmont
August 1991 - August 1993
Body and chassis
Body style
4-door sedan
5-door wagon
FR layout
Ford NC Fairlane
3.9 L I6
4.0 L I6
5.0 L Windsor V8
5-speed manual
4-speed automatic
Ford EA Falcon
Ford ED Falcon
The Ford EB Falcon is a car which was produced by the Ford Motor Company of Australia between 1991 and 1993. It replaced the Ford EA Falcon which had been in production since 1988.

Introduction and changes

Visually the 1991 EB remained nearly identical to its predecessor. The most noticeable change was the transfer of the Ford emblem from the tip of the bonnet to the grille. Additionally the air vents in C-pillars had been abolished, and reversing lamps were featured on either side of the rear number plate. The return of the V8 engine was welcomed by the motoring press; however, the 5.0-litre Windsor unit did not reappear in the Falcon utility variants until the XH series of 1997. With the return of the V8, a new model appeared in the S-XR8. There were also changes to the front suspension geometry, giving the EB a much better level of grip and steering feel.
Falcon (EB) Series I
Note: GL and Fairmont available with either 3.9 I6 or 5.0 V8. S only available with 3.9, S-XR8 5.0l only.
  • GL
  • Fairmont
  • Fairmont Ghia
  • S
  • S-XR8

Series II

The radically different Series II model, appearing in showrooms in April 1992, saw the six-cylinder engine upsized by 35 cubic centimetres (from 3949 cc to 3984 cc). This brought the nominal total swept capacity to 4.0 litres. The transmission and electronics were also improved, and there were tweaks to the styling. The base model now had body-coloured bumpers, and the previously matte black plastic exterior door handles were now given a glossy finish. The update reportedly cost A$1 million.
Innovation became an evident strength in the EBII: anti-lock brakes became an option, a Falcon first, and in 1993, a lap sash centre rear seatbelt became standard. The EB also introduced the "Smartlock" security locking system. South Australian Police revealed the operational success of "Smartlock", by inviting four professional car thieves to steal either a VN Calais or an EB specified with the locking system. The successful theft of the motor vehicle meant the thief could keep the vehicle indefinitely. The thieves made off with the VN in under 60 seconds, after walking right past the EB. Therefore the EB was classified unstealable. Foam-filled A-pillars also featured, which greatly increased crush protection and stiffened the frame, thus helping to reduce Noise, Vibration, and Harshness.
The rarest model was the SS, with just six produced. Built to be successful under Group 3E Series Production Cars, five were absorbed immediately into production car racing. The forthcoming Tickford enhanced S-XR6 replaced the role of the SS.
Production of the EB Falcon range totalled 36,374 with 84,847 examples of the EBII being produced. The EBII was replaced by the Ford ED Falcon in August 1993.

Tickford involvement, Return of the Falcon GT

Main article: Tickford Vehicle Engineering
The EB Series II saw the first models from the joint venture between Ford and Tickford Vehicle Engineering (TVE). A new model was introduced, the S-XR6, featuring Tickford enhancements to the engine and suspension. Similarly, the S-XR8 was improved over the existing Series I S-XR8. Tickford Vehicle Engineering re-introduced the sports orientated 25th anniversary EB Falcon GTspecification level, an exclusive 250 unit run celebrating the 25th anniversary of the first original Falcon GT.
Falcon (EB) Series II
Note: GLi and Fairmont available with either 4.0L I6 or 5.0L V8. S and S-XR6 only available with 4.0, S-XR8 5.0 only.
  • GLi
  • Fairmont
  • Fairmont Ghia
  • S
  • S-XR6
  • S-XR8
  • GT

Ford EB II Fairmont sedan
Ford EB II Falcon GLi wagon
Ford EB II Falcon S sedan
Ford EB Falcon GL sedan
Ford EB Falcon S XR8 sedan
Ford EBII Falcon GT


The Falcon (EB) SS was raced in the 1993 Australian Production Car Championship, with Mal Rose claiming a Championship win, after finishing 1st 4 times out of 6 rounds. The Group A 5.0 Litre Touring Car specification EB falcon saw impressive success in the 1993 Australian Touring Car Championship, the first season run under the new Group 3A rules, winning 7 out of 9 rounds. Glenn Seton Racing carried the bulk of success, with drivers Glenn Seton and Alan Jones finishing 1st and 2nd respectively. The Dick Johnson Racing Falcon's driven by John Bowe and Dick Johnson managed to score 3rd and 5th.
The Seton teams second EB Falcon driven by Geoff Brabham and David Parsons won the 1993 Sandown 500, though a mid-year aerodynamic package given to the Holden VP Commodore's saw the Falcons not as competitive at Bathurst. The Falcon received its own upgrade in 1994 with the addition of small wings on the side of the front air dam which brought it back into contention. This allowed the DJR Falcon driven by Dick Johnson and John Bowe to win both the 1994 Sandown 500 and the 1994 Tooheys 1000 at Bathurst.

Back to Ford Falcon (Australia)
Back to Ford Australia
Last updated on 26 August 2014 at 05:17.


Back to Top